Today was an “off” day, as we are flying out to Luoyang later this evening. That being said, I still have a few highlights of our last day in Beijing – enjoy!

Originally posted 22/06/14 on TravelPod.

I’m Lovin’ It

Our tour guide decided to throw us a curve today and asked us if we would like to take the students to McDonald’s. Realizing that many of the students had been roughing it for a couple of days now without their usual diet, we all agreed it would be a good idea. So, I had my first Big Mac meal outside North America. The fries were good, but I didn’t finish the hamburger. For those who know me well, that speaks volumes about my take on Mickey D’s in China.

Old Beijing

The last afternoon on this leg of our journey was spent in the rustic confines of Old Beijing. Equivalent to place Jacques Cartier in Old Montreal, the area was one long street with various vendors selling all sorts of souvenirs, trinkets, and treasures. In addition, there was a variety of food kiosks offering traditional Chinese treats.


We’ve done a lot in the last 3 days. But now, time for a change of pace & scenery. Wish we could have spent some more time here to explore the city further. Fortunately, we’ll be here for one more day before we head home.

Zài jiàn Beijing!

